How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

iCloud Photo Library is the service supplied by Apple to save all photos and videos into iCloud, so that you can have access to these photos and videos on all Apple devices with the same iCloud account. But the free iCloud storage offered by Apple is only 5GB. The photos saved in the iCloud Photo Library would take up a lot of space. That’s why you may need to turn off the iCloud Photo Library. However, some users will start to worry about losing photos after that. Never mind, this article shows you how to turn off iCloud photo library without deleting photos on iPhone/Mac.

Part 1. Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos on Mac

If you need to disable iCloud Photo Library on your Mac, just follow the process below.

Step 1. Click on ‘Photos’ on the dock and select ‘Photos’ in the upper left corner.

Step 2. Hit the ‘Reference’ option and tap on ‘iCloud’.

Step 3. Select the option of ‘iCloud Photo Library’ and ‘Download Originals to this Mac’, this will ensure that all the photos are downloaded on your computer.

download originals to this mac

Note: If you have selected ‘Optimize Mac Store’ before, you‘ll need to deselect this option and select the option of ‘Download Originals to this Mac’. When the syncing process is done, deselect ‘iCloud Photo Library’ to proceed.

Part 2. Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos on iPhone

To turn off iCloud Photo Library on iPhone without deleting photos, go to Settings, click your name > iCloud > Photos > iCloud Photo Library to turn it off.

The option of ‘Remove from iPhone’ and ‘Download Photos & Videos’ will pop up. Click ‘Download Photos & Videos’ and everything will be downloaded from iCloud Photo Library to local iPhone storage.

download photos and videos

Note: Sufficient storage should be guaranteed if you select the option of ‘Download Photos & Videos’, since all the files saved within iCloud Photo Library will be transferred to the iPhone storage.

Tip: Backup iPhone Before Turning off iCloud Photo Library

We suggest you make a full backup of your iPhone data to prevent potential data loss before disabling iCloud Photo Library on iPhone.

What you need is a 3rd-party tool to flexibly backup your iPhone data. This tool is called FoneGeek iOS Data Backup & Restore. Why do we recommend this tool? You’ll know the reasons after checking the exclusive advantages below:

  • 1-click to backup the whole thing on your iPhone, iPad and iPod touch. All the backup files will be securely kept without being overwritten.
  • Selectively backup any data and restore the backup to iPhone/Android without deleting the previous data.
  • You can also export these files to your computer to edit or print.

   

Steps to Backup iPhone before Turning off iCloud Photo Library

You can refer to the simple steps below:

Step 1. Run the FoneGeek software and you’ll see the ‘Phone Backup’ option from the tool list. Select it to proceed.

fonegeek home

Step 2. Hit ‘Backup’ button on this window.

backup restore

Step 3. FoneGeek supports to back up multiple data types for your device, including photos, videos, contacts, text messages, notes, etc. Choose the data based your need and hit ‘Backup’.

select file types to backup

Step 4. When the backup process is finished, the selected data will be listed. You can opt to preview these files or export them to computer.

view backup history

The photos will be safely kept on your computer, so that you can turn off iCloud Photo Library without deleting photos. You can also backup these photos or export them to computer with FoneGeek iOS Data Backup & Restore software when you are in need.

user

By Edwin J. Parke

Posted on Mar 03, 2019, 23:22:05

As a professional writer who is interested in technology, Edwin J. Parke has helped thousands of users by offering various tips to solve their problems.