iPhone adopts the iOS system that can only save 100 records of call history. If new call history are generated, the early records will be automatically overwritten. Both the incoming and outgoing calls are contained in the 100 call records. If the iPhone is frequently used to make calls everyday, the iPhone will delete call history automatically when the call logs saved on the device are more than 100. Here are also other situations when iPhone delete call history automatically, such as your update the iOS version to iOS 13, the device is suffering from virus attack, etc.
In some case, iPhone delete call history automatically will protect the sensitive information from leaking out and free up more space for the device. However, this is somewhat problematic if some of the deleted call logs mean a lot to you. After the automatically deletion, some users would like to know how to view deleted call logs on iPhone or how to recover deleted call history from iPhone.
Generally, iPhone stores the data in its SQLite database. When the data deleted from the device, they are not permanently deleted. Instead, their status is changed from "Assigned" to "Unallocated" in the database. When new data are added to the device, they will automatically occupy the "unallocated" portion of the database and overwrite all of the data in this portion. In other word, the deleted data will be overwritten and disappear permanently once new data are added to the device.
Therefore, we recommend that you stop using your iPhone as soon as possible. Since any new data generated on the device may overwrite the missing call history, making it difficult to recover.
A third-party iPhone data recovery program can access the iOS SQLite database and recover deleted call history as long as they are not overwritten.
We recommend the FoneGeek iPhone Data Recovery software for you to recover deleted call history from iPhone in iOS 13/12/11. This is the professional iOS data recovery software that has a friendly user experience and wizard operation. You can recover any data you want, including call history, contacts, voice memos, text messages, photos, videos, audio, etc.
Step 1. Connect your iPhone to the computer with your own USB cable and run iPhone Data Recovery. The software will automatically connect and detect the phone. After the connection, you can select the type of data you want to recover. You can see a lot of data types that can be selected on the interface (select the call log or select all) and then click Next, the software will start the scanning process of the phone.
Step 2. Be patient while the program scans the device, do not interrupt the scan or you will need to restart the scanning. When the software ends the scanning, you can click on the call log on the left and all call records, including existing and deleted, will be listed. Find the record information you need, check them and click on "Recover" to save them to your computer and view them.
If you just used iTunes to back up your iPhone data before, you can recover automatically deleted call history through iTunes backup. This method is free, however, it is unavailable is you have never backed up your iPhone with iTunes. And after restoring the iTunes backup, the current data will be wiped out permanently.
Step 1. Install and run iTunes, then connect the iPhone to computer through the USB cable. After the connection is successful, the device icon will be displayed on the software interface.
Step 2. Select ‘Restore Backup’ under the option of ‘Manually Backup and Restore’.
Step 3. Select an iTunes backup file based on the data and size. Click on Restore and the iPhone will restart automatically once the restore time is wrapped up.
iCloud is a cloud service provided by Apple. Users can store 5GB of iPhone data for free. And it is free to restore from iCloud backup without installing any software. However, just like iTunes, the current data will also be erased after restoring the iCloud backup.
Step 1. After erasing all content and settings on your iPhone, set up the device and choose to restore from iCloud backup.
Step 2. Log into the iCloud account and start to restore the iCloud backup.
After finishing the iCloud restore, the iPhone will be restored to an older condition that has the deleted call history.
It is a painful task if iPhone delete call history automatically. This hassle can be easily removed and the accidental deleted call history will be returned by applying to the 3 tips above. If you are worrying about losing current data when using these tips, then iTunes and iCloud restore is not recommend. If you need to selectively recover iPhone call history without deleting the current data, iPhone Data Recovery is your choice. And it offers the free trial version to preview deleted call history before registering.
By Joan J. Mims
Posted on Apr 04, 2018, 18:02:36
Joan J. Mims is interested in researching all tips about iPhone, iPad and Android. He loves to share useful ideas with all users.